Don’t forget to catch the 2011 Cinemanila International Film Festival which will be held from Nov. 11 to 17 at Market Market Cinemas, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig. There will be 13 Korean movies included in various sections of the film festival’s program. This is the only international film festival held in the Philippines so it is quite impressive that so many Korean movies have been included this year.

As always, I’ll try to share my thoughts on each film on a latter post so that I can make it a little more extensive. For the meantime, below are the trailers to the Korean movies included in the film festival.

황해 The Yellow Sea by Na Hong-Jin (140 minutes)
Nov. 12, 9:00pm  Market! Market! Cinema 4
Nov. 13, 6:15pm  Market! Market! Cinema 4

블라인드 Blind by Ahn Sang-Hoon (111 minutes)
Nov. 12, 9:00pm Market! Market! Cinema 5
Nov. 13, 1:45pm Market! Market! Cinema 5

악마를 보았다 I Saw The Devil by Kim Jee-Woon (141 minutes)
Nov. 12, 11:00pm Market! Market! Cinema 6
Nov. 15, 4:15pm Market! Market! Cinema 6

시 Poetry by Lee Chang-Dong (139 minutes)
Nov. 13, 4:30pm Market! Market! Cinema 6
Nov. 15, 1:45pm market! Market Cinema 6

똥파리 Breathless by Yang Ik-Joon (130 minutes)
Nov. 14, 9:00pm Market! Market! Cinema 5 (Includes Intro and Q&A with Actress Kkobi Kim and Director Yang Ik-Joon)

빗자루, 금붕어 되다 A Broom Becomes A Goldfish by Kim Dong-Joo (79 minutes)
Nov. 15, 1:45 pm Market! Market! Cinema 4

Jeonju Shorts B (101 minutes)
Influenza by Bong Joon-Ho
Magician by Song Il-Gon
Lost in the Mountains by Hong Sang-Soo
Nov. 15, 4:30pm Market! Market! Cinema 5
TRAILERS UNAVAILABLE

낮술 Daytime Drinking by Noh Young-Seok (116 minutes)
Nov. 15, 9:00pm (Includes Intro and Q&A with Director Noh Young-Seok)
Nov. 15, 7:00pm Korean Cultural Center (Special presence by Director Noh Young-Seok)

애정만세 A Time To Love by Yang Ik-Joon and Boo Ji-Young (80 minutes)
Nov. 16, 7:00 pm Market! Market! Cinema 4 (Includes Intro and Q&A with Yang Ik-Joon)

통증 Color of Pain by Kang Hyun-Lee (136 minutes)
Nov. 16, 1:45pm Market! Market! Cinema 5

박찬욱 파란만장 Nightfishing by Park Chan-Wook (33 minutes)
Nov. 16, 7:00pm Market! Market! Cinema 6

Ok, I can’t help but comment a bit. Can I just say that this is perhaps one of the strongest showcase for Korean movies in Cinemanila. I am quite impressed with the line-up and I am so excited to attend all the screenings plus the director’s showcases.

Thanks to , , , , , , , , , and for the videos plus thanks to Cinemanila for the photo.

About joon 준

Hi! 안녕! ^^

11 responses »

  1. derdo says:

    Hello. Posts back you recommended that I watch hello my teacher. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you very much. Any other suggestions?

    • joon 준 says:

      I am happy that you enjoyed it. You can check out the movie “She’s On Duty” (잠복근무). It stars Gong Yoo and Kim Sun-Ah (Do you know the actress from the Korean drama “My Name Is Kim Sam-Soon?). It is also very fun. ^^

  2. derdo says:

    thank you very much. I will do that!

    • joon 준 says:

      You’re welcome! Is Gong Yoo the only Korean actor you like? You can tell me who else you like so I can recommend to you dramas and movies to watch~ ^^

      • derdo says:

        How nice Of you to offer. Thing is I can’t remember their names. I liked He who can’t marry, the lead in east Of Eden who was in one of the series (not winter sonata but one of those). The lead in all about eve, also in hotelier. Please take your time answering. I don’t want to impose on you.

        Thanks again.

      • joon 준 says:

        The guy from “East of Eden” is Song Seung-Hoon. He’s not a very good actor but he’s popular in Korea because of his looks. I suggest you watch his drama “My Princess” since it’s the first time he actually showed real acting talent.

        The actor from “He Who Can’t Get Married” is Ji Jin-Hee. He’s well-known for acting in Saeguks (Korean historical drama). He was in “Jewel in the Palace” and is now back in Dongyi, another historical epic which is now doing really well in Korea. If you like historical drama, watch “Dongyi”.

        The lead actor in |All About Eve” is Jang Dong-Gun. He’s probably one of the best in Korea right now. But now he’s more into movies. One of my favorite movies is “Taegukgi” which stars him.

        Finally, the guy in “Hotelier” is Bae Yong-Joon. He was the one in “Winter Sonata”/. I’m thinking you’ve seen that already. He’s the first real Hallyu Star because of that drama. I’m not a big fan of him since he’s usually in tear-jerker dramas, but among his works I like the drama “Did We Ever Really Love?”.

        Happy watching!!! (^~^)

  3. mymindbox says:

    Hi! I’m a big fan of Korean dramas. I also recommend Taegukgi. One of the best historical movie I’ve watch. Got to know more about what happened during Korean War. Won Bin and Jang Dong-Gun were really good in this movie. 🙂

  4. derdo says:

    Thanks for the recommendations. The male lead in Hotelier – he’s not the one I like, but the other one. Kim Seung-woo.

    I thoroughly enjoyed My Princess. The female lead who was in Love Story in Harvard is so pretty!

    Pasta was so much fun!

Leave a Reply

