Well, not exactly.

After passing by the Korean mart, I ended up buying a bottle of instant Oksusu Tea with Hyun Bin on the label. It cost me Php41, which is a bit pricey compared to other local drinks in the Philippines, but I assure you it’s worth it. Oksusu Tea or Oksusu Cha 옥수수 차 is actually a traditional Korean herbal tea made from roasted corn kernels that is popularly known for its health benefits for people with high blood pressure, kidney or liver disease. It even has 0 calories!!!

To make it, the corn kernels are first dried thoroughly then roasted until they turn golden yellow or brown. Then the kernels are brewed with boiling water until it produces yellow juice. After this, it is strained to remove the kernels  and any particles.

The taste of Oksusu Tea is a bit nutty (not crazy I mean like a nut) since the roasted corn kernels leaves this distinct yet smooth sweet woody taste. Of course, there are also tea bag varieties of this, but I enjoy the instant tea version with Hyun Bin on it. Right, Binnie?

Thanks to  and  for the videos.

About joon 준

Hi! 안녕! ^^

16 responses »

  1. minmusic says:

    I wished the area we live in had Korean markets D:

  2. minmusic says:

    It’s me Min :3 I live in Memphis Tennessee. we have one asian market, it has more Japanese, and Chinese products than Korean products like the one you have T_T

    • joon 준 says:

      Oh Min! Hello! Hello! Nice to see you here. I didn’t recognize you because of the avatar and the “music” in your name. That’s too bad. Do you have Korean Town in Memphis? ^^

  3. minmusic says:

    yeah, I do things abit differently in wordpress. My avatar here is my old japkorchi one :3 and Nope we don’t, we have a pretty small Asian population here, im lucky we have this one store. I wanna move back to California. -_-

    • joon 준 says:

      Ah really? It’s too bad. There’s a lot of Koreans in the States already so I expected you would be near at least one Korean mart. This means you need to really hoard on the Korean products. ^^

  4. minmusic says:

    ooh not in the south really unless your in Atlanta, I’m in Memphis it has more Japanese than Korean folks. I wish we did have a bigger asian population, but thats more in the coastal states or up north. In California you couldn’t turn a corner without seeing an asian market. Id have to move or buy online, i do go to a store here, but they have more Japanese as said than korean products, they have a nice amount, but not in the drink section. I have to go back there and take a long look soon. :3

  5. minmusic says:

    I’m more likely to find mochi than anything korean. D: I like, no love mochi, but i want other stuff too.

  6. patrixia says:

    Hi, came across your blog not too long ago and I enjoy reading it. Anyway, I tried the Hyun Bin tea here in Bangkok and I kept the bottle 🙂 Korean stuff (grocery items, cosmetics, can’t compare clothes or restos, though) here is pricier than in Manila. Tsk.

    • joon 준 says:

      I love how you call Oksusu Tea as Hyun Bin Tea. That’s cute. I’m not surprised that Korean stuff is more expensive in Bangkok. It’s not so populated with Koreans.

      Manila is almost like a part of Korea already with all the retirees, honeymooners, tourists, and students from Korea. So there is more demand for Korean products in the Philippines already. ^^

    • Anna says:

      Where did you buy the tea in Bangkok? I want to try.

  7. patrixia says:

    It was given to me by a workmate who’s a Hyun Bin fanatic and that’s what we call the tea 🙂

    Anyway, just to share to you, there are a few Thai products plastered with Kpop faces – prawn chips with 2PM, lollies with Jang Geun Seuk, cologne with Super Junior, etc.

    • joon 준 says:

      Ha ha ha! Big thanks to your workmate then.

      Yes, there are a lot of products with Korean stars on them. The Korean advertising industry is built on endorsements after all.

      The Hyun Bin Tea actually caught me by surprise because the old packaging never had Hyun Bin’s face even when he started endorsing it. Maybe they realized that they can sell more Oksusu Tea if it became Hyun Bin Tea. ^^

      Before I forget, thanks for dropping by the blog ever so often. I always love to hear from my readers.

  8. Ella says:

    I want to drink it .
    where i buy it in the philippines?

    • joon 준 says:

      You can go to any Korean mart. It’s usually available there. Do note that there are two different packaging options for this product – one with Hyun Bin and one without. (^~^)

Leave a Reply

