After that disappointing dinner at Kaya Restaurant last night, I decided to have lunch at Mr. Kimbob again for some reliable Korean food. Instead of my usual bibimbap 비빔밥 for P95 (mixed meal of rice, meat, vegetables, and egg), I ordered kimbap 김밥 for P70 (rice rolls) and tteokbokki 떡볶이 for only P60 (Korean rice cakes).

Now, tteokbokki at Mr. Kimbob is a very intimidating snack to look at since it consists of sweet and chewy rice cakes in hot and spicy red sauce made from gochujang 고추장 (pepper paste). Again, I noticed these two women looking at me while I was eating my tteukbokki. They were already eating some Filipino dish (I don’t know what exactly) so imagine my surprise when they ordered tteukbokki for “dessert”.

I overheard them saying that it was really hot and spicy – but again, I looked at their hot plate after, and saw that they had eaten all of the tteukbokki they ordered! I have successfully convinced two Filipinos to eat tteukbokki!!!

At this rate I’m going – I can be the ambassador to the Philippines for Korean food! (Just like Super Junior’s Leeteuk, Heechul, Shindong, and Yesung who have been named as Ambassadors for Korean Cuisine)

About joon 준

Hi! 안녕! ^^

4 responses »

  1. Jazzyhue says:

    hyul~ tteokbokki!!! look like the mr. kimbob where i usually ate at SM Makati…

  2. sparkie says:

    Hi! I found your blog through google 😀 do you know a place in manila where they serve cheese tteokbokki? I had it when I went to Korea last March and it tasted so delicious. I’m really craving for it but I don’t know where to look for it in the Philippines >.<

Leave a Reply

