I’ve been a regular customer for the past 3 years of Mr. Kimbob, this really affordable food stall in the food court of SM Makati. And I have witnessed how they have revamped the stall within this period. Before they simply served my favorite bulgogi bibimbap (불고기 비빔밥) in simple el-cheapo plastic bowls. But perhaps realizing the trend for sizzling food in the Philippines, they recently started serving it in these black hot plates so you get your food sizzling.

Costing only P95, Bulgogi bibimbap is their best-seller here and with good reason. It’s a healthy serving (in all senses of the word) of rice, bulgogi beef, carrots, bean sprouts, cabbage, spinach, and sunny-side egg. But what I find interesting is that most Filipino patrons of the stall do not know how to eat their bibimbap properly.

The word bibimbap (비빔밥) literally translates to “mixed meal” so it’s no surprise that the key to enjoying bibimbap is mixing the ingredients together just like how I did it in the photo below:

In Mr. Kimbob, you actually get a “side dish” composed of salted cabbage, kimchi, and chili peper paste /gochujang (고추장). The kimchi and salted cabbage are true side dishes (Although you can also mix them in your bibimbap!). But the gochujang must be mixed with the rice, beef, egg, and other vegetables to make your bibimbap truly enjoyable. It is not meant to be a dip or dressing for the beef and vegetables!!!

Mr. Kimbob is a great option for those looking for authentic Korean food on a budget. I can assure you that it is authentic. I’ve actually even met the owner who happens to be a pretty lady who reminds me a bit of Jang Geum from Jewel in the Palace. I still see her from time to time whenever I eat lunch early. I love it when she personally prepares my orders but she’s been quite busy recently (perhaps trying to expand her business). The taste is also as good as if not better than bibimbap usually served in Korean restaurants. So this is definitely the best place to have a taste of Korea.

About joon 준

Hi! 안녕! ^^

4 responses »

  1. Pammy says:

    Hey!! It’s so nice to see someone like me who fancies this food stall! ^__^
    I also witnessed their transition, and I have to say, it was for the best! I love ordering Kimchi Bokumbab and Bulgogi Bibimbab. I also order takeout kimchi! ♥ It was heaven sent when Mr. Kimbob emerged. I was quite depressed when a similar korean food stall in SM Southmall that disappeared. It was called BULBOP.

    • joon says:

      I eat at Mr. Kimbob practically everyday! It’s really good for its affordable price! I find it ironic how the much more expensive Kaya Restaurant is so close. ㅎ ㅎ ㅎ

      I wouldn’t suggest having kimchi for takeout though. It’s much cheaper to just buy a jar of it from the supermarket. And while you’re at it, buy some gochujang (고추장) as well. You can easily make bibimbap (비빔밥) at home. It’s also great with kalbi (갈비).

      🙂

  2. jc says:

    may i ask if they serve soju? Also may I ask what korean restos serves soju you recommend

    • joon says:

      Unfortunately, Mr. Kimbob does not serve soju. It’s just a simple food stall in the “food court” of SM Makati. I don’t know where you are from but if ever you’re in Cavite, there’s a fantastic yet affordable authentic Korean restaurant near De La Salle Dasmarinas called Baek Yuen. That’s where my uncle brings his Korean clients whenever they are in town. It’s also the favorite Korean restaurant of my family. They serve soju – although if you just want to taste soju, I suggest you just buy it from the supermarket since soju is somewhat expensive when served in Korean restaurants. ^^

Leave a Reply

